Japan//culture: Valentine’s Day

This time last week was Valentine’s day and I always get asked “what are you making/giving Ksk for Valentine’s day? or what are you guy’s doing?” ….Uhh nothing particular.

Personally I don’t celebrate Valentine’s day, never have and I doubt I ever will. Ksk’s not overly bothered by the holiday either. I don’t make Ksk any chocolates because he doesn’t actually like sweets, so it would be totally wasted. I do however buy him some interesting looking chocolate If I find any.

IMG_7311

In contrast with Valentine’s day in the west, in Japan it is the day women give chocolates to their boyfriends, husbands, crushes and colleagues.

COLLEAGUES?! Yes, colleagues. If you’re female, work in a Japanese company, you are expected to give giri-choco (courtesy chocolate) to all of your male co-workers.

Can you imagine how expensive that can be? or time consuming if you’re hand making them?

Speaking of handmade chocolates thought, I read an article earlier in the week that said allegedly there was a rise in women putting bodily fluids (ew), hair etc in the vain hopes their crushes will magically fall for them. Um. ok.

This post by Ri talks more about the origins of Japanese Valentine’s tradition. I’m just going to show you some of the interesting looking Valentine’s chocolates I saw in the shop here.

.IMG_7045

IMG_7046

IMG_7047

IMG_7048

IMG_7050

IMG_7049

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Ooh, thank you for the shoutout! ^^
    We don’t really do that much eitherーif it’s a day off like it was this year we’ll go to lunch or something, so we did. Nothing out of the ordinary from a normal date though. 🙂
    I love all these crazy chocolates you found! I’ve never seen any like the pizza or zoo animals before! I wonder if they’re any good?

    Like

  2. How strange that you give “courtesy chocolate” to your male colleagues. I think I prefer Western Valentines Day, where I get chocolate 😉 (I love chocolate so much!)

    Dannie x
    http://www.famousinjapan.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

Yamanashi Kei

Japan, culture, and international relationships

ミカエラの Asia Travel Diaries

Based in Japan, Writing About Everything Around It.

Unfold Tokyo

Discovering the food, life, and love of Japan

Miyagi Mermaid

Alaskan in Tohoku

❤ osharegirl

f a s h i o n

Aikamilla

Health, Lifestyle and Beauty Blog♡

emilylouisemaitland

Life in Japan

SoraNews24

Bringing you yesterday's news from Japan and Asia, today.

DayDreamTokyo

~A blog about photography, travelling and my life in Japan~

seoulpanda

On a journey to Korean and Japanese....

Beautiful Darkness

Make up reviews, tutorials & more

tired of Tokyo

Fashion, Lifestyle and Travel by Nicola Thiele

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Diary of a Cusp

Food | Fashion | Makeup | Travel

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

